Welcome home soldier

This poem is inspired by an Afrikaans story that I read on a blog of a South-African veteran. I wrote it in one go after reading the story.

Only thereafter, I discovered that it was Veterans Day in The Netherlands that very day.

Coincidence?


BTW: If you feel tempted to put these words to music, please feel free to give it a try and share the result with me.

Welcome home soldier


Early on a Sunday morning; …… I joined the queue

Just behind a soldier; …… paying his due

The cashier was looking bright; …… one of a kind

Then those words were coming; …… hitting my mind

Cruelly carving barriers; …… sharp as a knife

Freeing nasty memories; …… dark as the night

I left all my groceries; …… running away

Rushing to the carpark; …… unable to stay.

 

She said ……….:

Thank you for your service; …… I couldn’t move

Thank you for your service; …… unable to hoof

Thank you for your service; …… what could I do?

Thank you for your service; …… don’t have a clue.

 

Going into the army; …… young as we were

Didn’t know much of the dangers; …… willing to dare

A savvy sergeant was drilling us; …… mean as hell

Listen, practice and practice; …… that was his yell

Horrible things we did and saw; …… smell in our nose

Being afraid to go to sleep; …… unable to doze.

Leaving alive or in plastic; …… that you can't choose

Only later you will see; …… either way you lose

 

She said ……….:

Thank you for your service; …… I couldn’t move

Thank you for your service; …… unable to hoof

Thank you for your service; …… what could I do?

Thank you for your service; …… don’t have a clue.

 

I returned in turbulent times; …… barely alive

Leaving friends in the desert; …… that didn’t survive

I started my own family; …… marrying a wife

Going back to normal; …… that didn’t arrive

I live in a shadow world; …… no final goal

Chasing people away; …… saving my sole

Unable to tell my stories; …… end of the road

Until those words were coming; …… lifting my load

 

She said ……….:

Thank you for your service; …… I couldn’t move

Thank you for your service; …… unable to hoof

Thank you for your service; …… what could I do?

Thank you for your service; …… don’t have a clue.

 

I went down to my kitchen; …… unable to speak

My wife saw me sitting there; …… body all weak

She took me in her arms; …… feeling what to do

Then the floods were coming; …… releasing the stew

I opened my head and heart; …… letting it out

Crying, weeping and trembling; …… finally, a shout

She said: Welcome home soldier; …… join me on the way

Welcome home soldier; …… you are here to stay

 

She said ……….:

Thank you for your service; …… I couldn’t move

Thank you for your service; …… unable to hoof

Thank you for your service; …… what could I do?

Thank you for your service; …… I just found my clue.

  

Thei Geurts

25-06-2016